A picture containing person, indoor, table, man

Description automatically generated    A person wearing glasses

Description automatically generated

© 2020 Chester R. Cooper, Jr.

BIOL 3702L Home Page      Laboratory Exercises      Safety Rules

BIOL 3702L Schedule of Laboratory Activities

Spring 2020 Semester

(updated January 21, 2020)

This web page contains links to each laboratory exercise.  Each exercise can be downloaded as a PDF document.*  Similarly, many of the exercises are accompanied by a PDF document containing the laboratory lecture notes.  There are also some links to other web pages associated with this laboratory course.  For example, links have been provided to the CONNECT learning platform for each LearnSmart Lab Exercise.  However, links to other relevant materials (e.g., videos, vendor instructions, etc.) coupled with a given exercise are not provided.  These links can be found on the Laboratory Exercises web page.

Please note that LearnSmart Lab Exercises shall be available at 8:00 AM on the date indicated and close at 10:00 AM on the scheduled date.  There shall be no exceptions for missing a deadline.

*Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader

Please report any “broken” links to Dr. Cooper.

Day/Date

Scheduled Activities

[Unless noted, all exercises are to be performed by each student]

Mon., Jan. 13

Tue., Jan 14

Introduction to the Microbiology Laboratory

·       Lecture Notes: Introduction to the Microbiology Laboratory

·       Review of Safety Rules

·       LearnSmart Lab Exercise: Lab Safety (open)

Wed., Jan. 15

Thu., Jan. 16

·       Exercise: The Bright-Field Microscope: Its Proper Use and Care

·       Lecture Notes: Bright-Field Microscopy

Mon., Jan. 20

Laboratory Closed – Martin Luther King Holiday

Tue., Jan 21

Wed., Jan. 22

·       Safety Quiz

·       Required Laboratory Syllabus Acknowledgement Statement Due

·       Required Liability Waiver Due (LW)

·       Exercise: Basic Culture Technique: Aseptic Transfer

·       Exercise: Basic Culture Techniques: Streak Plate

·       Lecture Notes: Aseptic Transfer and Streak Plate Techniques

Thu., Jan. 23

No Scheduled Laboratory Sessions

Laboratory Is Open 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
for Practicing Use of the Microscope

·       LearnSmart Lab Exercise: Lab Safety (closed Friday, 1/24, at 10:00 AM)

Mon., Jan. 27

Tue., Jan 28

·       Exercise: Bacterial Smears and Simple Staining

·       Lecture Notes: Smears and Simple Staining

·       Skills Test I: Microscopy Proficiency

·       Skills Test II: Streak Plate Proficiency

·       LearnSmart Lab Exercise: Staining (open)

Wed., Jan. 29

Thu., Jan. 30

·       Bacterial Smears and Simple Staining (cont.)

·       Skills Test I (cont.)

·       Skills Test II (cont.)

Mon., Feb. 3

Tue., Feb. 4

·       Quiz (smears, simple staining, and Gram stain)

·       Exercise: Differential Staining – The Gram Stain

·       Lecture Notes: Gram Stain

·       Skills Tests I and II Due

Wed., Feb. 5

Thu., Feb. 6

·       Differential Staining – The Gram Stain (cont.)

·       LearnSmart Lab Exercise: Staining (closed Friday, 2/7, at 10:00 AM))

Mon., Feb. 10

Tue., Feb. 11

·      Skills Test III: Gram Stain Unknown

The following exercises shall be conducted within groups to be assigned by the laboratory instructor:

·      Exercise: Selective and Differential Media

·      Exercise: Effect of Osmotic Pressure on Microbial Growth

·      Exercise: Effect of Temperature on Microbial Growth

·      Exercise: Effect of pH on Microbial Growth

·      Exercise: Aerobic vs. Anaerobic Culture

·      Exercise: The Nitrate Test

·      Lecture Notes: Bacterial Growth Responses

Wed., Feb. 12

Thu., Feb. 13

·       Quiz (current week’s exercises)

·       Selective and Differential Media (cont.)

·       Effect of Osmotic Pressure on Microbial Growth (cont.)

·       Effect of Temperature on Microbial Growth (cont.)

·       Effect of pH on Microbial Growth (cont.)

·       Aerobic vs. Anaerobic Culture (cont.)

·       The Nitrate Test (cont.)

Mon., Feb. 17

Tue., Feb. 18

·      Skills Tests III Due

The following exercise shall be conducted within groups to be assigned by the laboratory instructor:

·       Exercise: Determination of Microbial Numbers

·       Lecture Notes: Determination of Microbial Numbers

·       Dilution Problems (practice problems) (PDF)

·       Aerobic vs. Anaerobic Culture (cont.)

Wed., Feb. 19

Thu., Feb. 20

·       Quiz (current week’s exercise)

·       Determination of Microbial Numbers (cont.)

·       Aerobic vs. Anaerobic Culture (cont.)

Mon., Feb. 25

Tue., Feb.26

The following exercise shall be conducted within groups to be assigned by the laboratory instructor:

·       Exercise: Antibiotic Susceptibility

·       Exercise: Pour Plate Counts

·       Lecture Notes: Kirby-Bauer Susceptibility Testing

·       Exercise Addendum: Antibiotic Susceptibility Chart (PDF)

Wed., Feb. 27

Thu., Feb. 28

·       Quiz (current week’s exercise)

·       Antibiotic Susceptibility (cont.)

·       Pour Plate Counts (cont.)

Mon., Mar. 2

Tue., Mar. 3

·      LearnSmart Lab Exercise: Identification of Unknown Bacteria (open)

The following exercises shall be conducted within groups to be assigned by the laboratory instructor:

Brief Survey of Selected Cocci (Background Reading)

·       Exercise: Hemolysis and CAMP Test

·       Exercise: Temperature and Salt Tolerance

·       Exercise: Oxidase Test

·       Exercise: Gelatinase Assay

·       Exercise: DNase Activity

·       Exercise: Coagulase Test

·       Exercise: Catalase Test

·       Exercise: Hydrolysis of Esculin and L-Pyroglutamic
Acid--Naphthylamide

·       Exercise: Antibiotic Sensitivity

·       Lecture Notes: A Survey of the Cocci Diagnostics

Wed., Mar. 4

Thu., Mar. 5

·       Quiz (current week’s exercises)

A Survey of Selected Cocci (cont.)

·       Hemolysis and CAMP Test

·       Temperature and Salt Tolerance (cont.)

·       Oxidase Test (cont.)

·       Gelatinase Assay (cont.)

·       DNase Activity (cont.)

·       Coagulase Test (cont.)

·       Catalase Test (cont.)

·       Hydrolysis of Esculin and L-Pyroglutamic
Acid-
-Naphthylamide (cont.)

·       Antibiotic Resistance (cont.)

Mon., Mar. 9
through
Fri., Mar. 13

Laboratory Closed – Spring Break

Mon., Mar. 16

Tue., Mar. 17

The following exercises shall be conducted within groups to be assigned by the laboratory instructor:

A Survey of Selected Bacilli [not yet available]

·       Exercise: Carbohydrate Fermentation

·       Exercise: Sulfide, Indole, Motility Test

·       Exercise: Methyl Red-Voges Proskauer Tests

·       Exercise: Citrate Utilization Test

·       Exercise: Urease Test

·       Lecture Notes: Diagnostic Media, Part I

Wed., Mar. 18

Thu., Mar. 19

·       Quiz (current week’s exercises)

A Survey of Selected Bacilli (cont.)

·      Carbohydrate Fermentation (cont.)

·      Sulfide, Indole, Motility Test (cont.)

·      Methyl Red-Voges Proskauer Tests (cont.)

·      Citrate Utilization Test (cont.)

·      Urease Test (cont.)

Mon., Mar. 23

Tue., Mar. 24

The following exercises shall be conducted within groups to be assigned by the laboratory instructor:

A Survey of Selected Bacilli (cont.)

·       Exercise: Triple Sugar Iron Test

·       Exercise: Decarboxylation Tests

·       Exercise: Indole Test

·       Exercise: Phenylalanine Deamination Test

·       Exercise: Motility Test

·       Lecture Notes: Diagnostic Media, Part II

Wed., Mar. 25

Thu., Mar. 26

·       Quiz (current week’s exercises)

·       LearnSmart Lab Exercise: Identification of Unknown Bacteria (closed on Friday, 3/27, at 10:00 AM)

A Survey of Selected Bacilli (cont.)

·      Triple Sugar Iron Test (cont.)

·      Decarboxylation Tests (cont.)

·      Indole Test (cont.)

·      Phenylalanine Deamination Test (cont.)

·      Motility Test (cont.)

Mon., Mar. 30

Tue., Mar. 31

·       Lecture Notes: The Bacterial Unknown Project

·       Skills Test IV: Bacterial Unknowns

Charts of Biochemical and Diagnostic Features:

·      Selected Gram-Negative Bacilli Chart

·      Selected Gram-Positive Bacilli Chart

·      Selected Cocci Chart

Wed., Apr. 1

Thu., Apr. 2

·      Skills Test IV: Bacterial Unknowns (cont.)

Mon., Apr. 6

Tue., Apr. 7

·      Skills Test IV: Bacterial Unknowns (cont.)

Wed., Apr. 8

Thu., Apr. 9

·      Skills Test IV: Bacterial Unknowns (cont.)

Mon., Apr. 13

Tue., Apr. 14

·      Skills Test IV: Bacterial Unknowns (cont.)

Wed., Apr. 15

Thu., Apr. 16

·      Skills Test IV: Bacterial Unknowns (cont.)

·      Skills Test IV due by Noon (12:00 PM) on Friday, April 17th

Mon., Apr. 20

Tue., Apr. 21

The following exercise shall be conducted within groups to be assigned by the laboratory instructor:

·       Exercise: Membrane Filter Detection of Coliforms and Enterococci

·       Lecture Notes: Coliform-Enterococcus Isolation

Wed., Apr. 22

Thu., Apr. 23

·       Quiz (current week’s exercises)

·       Membrane Filter Detection of Coliforms and Enterococci (cont.)

Mon., Apr. 27

Tue., Apr. 28

Groups will be assigned by the laboratory instructor to conduct one of the following exercises:

·       Exercise: PCR Characterization of Escherichia coli

·       Exercise: PCR Characterization of Enterococcus

·       Lecture Notes: To Be Posted

Wed., Apr. 29

Thu., Apr. 30

·       Quiz (current week’s exercises)

·       PCR Characterization of Escherichia coli (cont.)

·       PCR Characterization of Enterococcus (cont.)

Mon., May 4

through

Fri., May 8

Laboratory Closed – Final Exam Week

Youngstown State University does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and/or expression, disability, age, religion or veteran/military status in its programs or activities. Please visit the EIT Home Page for contact information for persons designated to handle questions about this policy.

It is possible that portions of this web page are not wholly in accord with the American with Disabilities Act.  If this is the case, a student currently enrolled in this course should contact Dr. Cooper (crcooper01@ysu.edu; 330.941.1361) and compliant material shall be provided as soon as practical.

© 2020 Chester R. Cooper, Jr.